John Prine and Jim James – “All the Best” on Letterman

9:03 am by

John Prine is an under-appreciated treasure of American music. The best of his songwriting is damn near unparalleled. He has long been recognized by fellow musicians for his talent, and soon he’ll have a tribute album filled with the best of them. Broken Hearts and Dirty Windows, featuring the likes of My Morning Jacket, the Avett Brothers, Justin Vernon, and the Drive-by Truckers, releases on June 22nd. Prine and Jim James performed a beautiful version of MMJ’s cover from the album, “All the Best,” on Letterman last night. Enjoy.

The artists and tracklist for the album should get you pretty excited.

01 Justin Vernon – “Bruised Orange (Chain of Sorrow)”
02 Conor Oberst and the Mystic Valley Band – “Wedding Day in Funeralville”
03 My Morning Jacket – “All the Best”
04 Josh Ritter – “Mexican Home”
05 Lambchop – “Six O’Clock News”
06 Justin Townes Earle – “Far From Me”
07 The Avett Brothers – “Spanish Pipedream”
08 Old Crow Medicine Show – “Angel From Montgomery”
09 Sara Watkins – “The Late John Garfield Blues”
10 Drive-By Truckers – “Daddy’s Little Pumpkin”
11 Deer Tick – “Unwed Fathers” [ft. Liz Isenberg]
12 Those Darlins – “Let’s Talk Dirty in Hawaiian”